More Energy – YES, Please!

A co-worker recently sent this to me, and honestly, just…yes.

Fast Company – 8 Unobvious Ways to Have More Energy at Work

Granted, some of these do seem like obvious solutions. It’s common knowledge that your eating habits are directly correlated to how you feel physically and mentally.

I do have a few bones to pick though because, ultimately, most of these suggestions are impractical. Yes, I would love a nap everyday – not going to happen. Eye strain – well, I work a job that consists of being in front of a computer 99% of the time. Eye strain is going to happen. Filtering my decisions? I would love that option. However, most of the my decisions have already been filtered top-down; there isn’t a lot of room for me to say no.

What can I work? Get up and move around more often. Streamline the few decisions I can dictate (i.e. the breakfast example, easy desk set up, organizational skills, etc.). I can do a better job of cultivating meaningful relationships with my co-workers. Most importantly, I can work on being more present during my weekend breaks. Indulging in myself and the moments I can create doing the things I love, with the people I love.

I know this, like everything, will be an ongoing process of trying to refine my skills and my priorities. Being an adult is exhausting.

Leave a Reply

